17th September: Be More Pirate! (Leadership and Effective Collaboration) – reservations now open!

What if everything you thought you knew about pirates was wrong?

We’re going to explore leadership with a Treasure Island twist.

  • Date: Friday, 17th September
  • Time: 07:00 EDT / 13:00 BST / 14:00 CEST / 17:30 IST
  • Location: Online
  • Available on YouTube afterwards: No
A pink skull and cross bones

We will dive into history to uncover some of the lessons that can be learned from the Golden Age of Piracy; taking the cartoonish buccaneers we know from pop culture, and reframing them as innovators.

How can you, as a Community Leader (or aspiring to be one), think differently: constructively challenge the status quo, whether it’s rewriting the rules of team culture or reimaging engagement?

One of the most common misconceptions about pirates is that they were bloodthirsty agents of chaos, when in fact they were highly creative, organised and collaborative. Pirates were nothing without their crew, and they can teach us 21st century-ers a thing or two about fair leadership and effective collaboration.

We’re going to be led by Alex Barker, ‘Captain’ of the global Be More Pirate movement. Prepare to venture off the edges of your map with plenty of real world scenarios that you can take away and use.

Come and join us! Welcome to our space to chat, hear what other community leaders are thinking, and discuss pirates!

RSVP now to ensure your place, and get an email reminder with the special link 2 hours beforehand.

Alex Barker with the Be More Pirate logot in the background - the word "pirate" is upside down.

Have a question you would like some input on? We’re here for you and welcome suggestions for future topics. Want to join us next time? Sign up to our mailing list to be kept up to date.

YeurLeadin shares best practice and inspiration for Salesforce Community Leaders. Whether you’re on the organising team of a Community Group, Salesforce Saturday, Community Conference, a MVP or a Product Champion; or you’re otherwise deeply involved in the community, the aim is that we can all learn from each other. Have some ephinanies you wish to share? Let us know!